Last updated 2023 Dec 7th
Folder IDs will change, unlike Files Folders can't be moved via the API, which means these have to be recreated on the destination having new URLs and IDs.
Explicit and implicit permissions (only MyDrive)
n to 1 migrations
While we technically support n to 1 migrations these are NOT recommended as the user rate limiting will kick in earlier reducing the migration speed for all involved users. For drive and calendar it is recommended to use the data migration service in the admin console while the data resides in the source or after it has been migrated to the destination.
Incoming file permissions (ON ROADMAP)
We plan to migrate incoming permisions too ("shared with me"), this depends on the permissions the user has and will not always be possible.
Non owned folders
Files in non owned folders will be correctly migrated if the source user has edit rights. Missing the edit rights we cannot move the files back to the source folder. The files will be migrated into the destination users MyDrive in a Folder named "Files in non owned Folders" and a CSV file with info regarding this non migratable files will be provided to the administrator at the end of the migration.
Shared Drive Location
Shared Drives will be created either in the root or in the OU where the admin given for the migration is located. There is no way to select the OU for creation of a shared drive or an option to move a Shared Drive once created.
Sites will be migrated over to the new accounts. Publishing settings need to be reapplied in the admin console.
Protected ranges permissions will remain on the source users and will not be mapped as this information is inside the document
Comments will keep the email address of the original user (not mapped to destination) as this information is inside the document.
Approval process are lost during the migration due to user changes. Locks are kept.
Meet links for events owned by the migrated users are migrated over and work, the user still has to Admit the other participants, but this can be done from the destination user.
Non owned events
Non owned events are copied over, the link to the original event is lost. This will be reflected by a prefix in the title of the event (by default "**IMPORT**"), the user will need to request to be invited again to these events.